2017 SWF Falmouth Road Race

Thursday, March 30, 2017


2017 Falmouth Road Race benefiting the Sturge-Weber Foundation
August 20, 2017
Falmouth, MA

Thank you so much for visiting our event page for the 2017 Falmouth Road Race. This is the 8th year a team of runners has represented the Sturge-Weber Foundation in this renowned road race. Each year our team has grown, starting with only 5 runners the very first year. This year we have a remarkable 40 Sturge-Weber champions participating! Over $465,000 has been raised by the runners to date. Once again, Pam McIntyre and Jessica Melo, two champions of the SWF and mothers of sons with SWS, will be leading and motivating the team of runners. We are so grateful for the continued enthusiasm and support of these two women!

Additionally, Cynosure, a faithful sponsors in years past, and Liberty Mutual Insurance Company are our corporate sponsors for 2017 ensuring that we are able to register all 40 runners in the event.  We are honored to have such generous sponsors this year!

The Sturge-Weber Foundation is a non-profit organization with the mission of improving the quality of life for people with Sturge-Weber syndrome and associated Port Wine birthmark conditions through collaborative education, advocacy, research and friendly support.

What is Sturge-Weber Syndrome?  It is a congenital condition characterized by a facial port-wine birthmark and varying degrees of glaucoma and/or seizures. The Foundation was incorporated in 1987 and has dedicated 30 years to friendly support, educational programs and support, funding for research to improve treatments and ultimately finding a cure.  SWF was part of the ground-breaking discovery of the gene GNAQ that causes the syndrome.

To find out more about SWS and the Sturge-Weber Foundation, visit our site at www.sturge-weber.org.

Honor Roll of Falmouth Road Race Warriors
8 Years - Pam McIntyre, Jessica Melo; 7 Years - Kevin Melo; 6 Years - Chris Marino; 5 Years- Jonathan Desmarais, Charlene Johnson, Ellen LaMarche, Octavio Melo, Michelle O'Connor; 
4 years - Nancy Carpenter, Ellen LaMarche, John O'Day, Kate Sanders, Jamie Trickett; 3 Years- Julie Brady, Mike Collins, Brent Crouch, Woody Crouch, Coralee Craig, Rob O'Neill, Deb Shea, Heather Wicken; 
2 Years - Melanie Arena, Kim Auen, Mark Banks, Jen Barbato, Nick Carpenter, Nina Conway, Carol Di Pietro, Olivia Melo, Peter Sullivan, Dan Torgerson; Welcome Newcomers - Kunal Bhalla, Kym Fischer, Lynn Hannan, Chris Karavolas, Adam Lavelle, Leah McCann, Kait Roweton, Ryan Sfreddo, Kate Tiberio