USA 2010 Lightweight Men's 8

United States Rowing Association

USA 2010 Lightweight Men's 8

USA 2010 Lightweight Men's 8

We are proud to announce that we will be representing the United States at this year's World Rowing Championships!  After a long summer of training, trials, and selections, the following rowers have been selected:

Bow : Skip Dise - MIT '03

2 : Michael Kerrigan - Navy '10

3 : Bob Duff - Columbia '10

4 : Julian Bowling - Navy '10

5: Matt Muffelman - Dartmouth '03

6 : Kenny McMahon - Wisconsin '08

7 : Matt Kochem - Cornell '08

Stroke: Jimmy Sopko - Navy '05

Coxswain: Steve Young - MIT '09

This will be an historic year, as we travel to the other side of the world to race in Karapiro, New Zealand.  The last World Championships on this course in New Zealand were in 1978.  We will be hoping to improve on last year's Silver Medal performance and seek revenge on last year's champions, the Italians.  Our next biggest goal is to find a way to pay for these nine men to travel to the other side of the world.  The total cost per athlete will be just over $6,000.  

Any amount of support is greatly appreciated!  This year, we will be offering signed team photos to anyone who donates $250 or more, and also a World Championship t-shirt for anyone who donates $500 or more.  If you would include your address and shirt size desired, it will make it easier to send these out.  For anyone who donated last year and did not receive their shirt or photo, please contact me at  (We appreciated the support but couldn't track you down.)


You can also follow our progress on the Shivspix website. There are some amazing photos from the rowing world.

Many thanks for your support -- and don't forget to forward this to anyone who you think might want to donate too!

This page is no longer accepting donations